Hi, I am Jian (James) Wang, currently a Senior Research Scientist in Snap Inc. I obtained my PhD degree from Carnegie Mellon University ECE department, advised by Prof. Aswin Sankaranarayanan and Prof. Srinivasa Narasimhan.
I'm mainly interested in Computer Vision, Computational Imaging (e.g., novel sensors/wearables/displays for AR/VR/HCI, physics-based vision, passive/active 3d sensing, creative consumer imaging devices) and Computational Photography (e.g., cool effects, image/video restoration/enhancement, image matting and compositing, image and video editing and generation, novel view synthesis).
I'm managed by Guru Krishnan and Shree K. Nayar in NYC research lab in Snap. Shree gave a nice keynote about our (unpublished) work in ICCP 2022 which includes my works, see here video link.
I am looking for self-motivated interns in Computational Imaging, Computational Photography and Computer Vision. Drop me an email if you are interested.
Contact: jianwang.cmu at gmail dot com


* means equal contribution, co-corresponding authors, or co-authors are my student advisees
3D Photo Stylization:
Learning to Generate Stylized Novel Views from a Single Image
Fangzhou Mu, Jian Wang*,
Yicheng Wu*, and Yin Li*
CVPR, 2022 (Oral)
Cloud2Sketch: Augmenting Clouds with Imaginary Sketches
Zhaoyi Wan, Dejia Xu, Zhangyang Wang,
Jian Wang*, and Jiebo Luo* (* co-corresponding authors)
ACM MM, 2022
Structured Light with Redundancy Codes
Zhanghao Sun, Yu Zhang, Yicheng Wu,
Dong Huo, Yiming Qian, and Jian Wang* (* corresponding author)
arXiv, 2022
Transparent Camera
Jian Wang, Zhanghao Sun,
Dejia Xu, Mr./Ms. Cool +
(+ call for awesome collaborators (like Sony, Samsung) to make it happen)
Presented as a poster in ICCP 2022 (Best Poster Award)
RobustPPG: Camera-Based Robust Heart Rate Estimation Using Motion Cancellation
Akash Kumar Maity*, Jian Wang*,
Ashutosh Sabharwal, Shree Nayar
Biomedical Optics Express, 2022
To appear
Seeing Far in the Dark with Patterned Flash
Zhanghao Sun*, Jian Wang*, Yicheng Wu, Shree Nayar
ECCV, 2022
(Survey) Recent Progress in Computational Imaging
Xiong Dun*, Qiang Fu*, Haotian Li*, Tiancheng Sun*, Jian Wang*, and Qilin Sun*
Journal of Image and Graphics, 中国图象图形学报, 2022
Glass Segmentation with RGB-Thermal Image Pairs
Dong Huo*, Jian Wang*,
Yiming Qian, and Yee-Hong Yang
arXiv, 2022
Seeing in Extra Darkness Using a Deep-red Flash
Jinhui Xiong*, Jian Wang*,
Wolfgang Heidrich, and Shree Nayar
CVPR 2021 (Oral)
Group Contextual Encoding for 3D Point Clouds
Xu Liu, Chengtao Li, Jian Wang,
Jingbo Wang, Boxin Shi, and Xiaodong He
NeurIPS 2020
Dense Point Diffusion for 3D Object Detection
Xu Liu, Jiayan Cao, Qianqian Bi,
Jian Wang, Boxin Shi, and Yicheng Wei
3DV 2020
Micro-Baseline Structured Light
Vishwanath Saragadam*, Jian Wang, Mohit Gupta, and Shree Nayar
ICCV 2019
Agile Depth Sensing Using Triangulation Light Curtains
Joseph R. Bartels, Jian Wang,
William “Red” Whittaker1, and Srinivasa G. Narasimhan
ICCV 2019 (Oral)
Stereoscopic Dark Flash for Low-light Photography
Jian Wang, Tianfan Xue, Jonathan T. Barron, and Jiawen Chen
ICCP 2019 (Oral)

High Resolution 2D Imaging and 3D Scanning with Line Sensors
Jian Wang
PhD Thesis, Carnegie Mellon University, 2018
Programmable Triangulation Light Curtains
Jian Wang, Joe Bartels, William Whittaker,
Aswin C. Sankaranarayanan, and Srinivasa G. Narasimhan
ECCV 2018 (Oral)
Reflectance Capture using Univariate Sampling of BRDFs
Zhuo Hui, Kalyan Sunkavalli, Joon-Young Lee, Sunil Hadap,
Jian Wang, and Aswin C. Sankaranarayanan
ICCV 2017
Compressive Spectral Anomaly Detection
Vishwanath Saragadam, Jian Wang,
Xin Li, and Aswin C. Sankaranarayanan
ICCP 2017 (Oral)
Dual Structured Light Using a 1D Sensor
Jian Wang, Aswin C. Sankaranarayanan,
Mohit Gupta, and Srinivasa G. Narasimhan
ECCV 2016 (Oral)
Radon Transform Imaging: Low cost video compressive sensing at extreme resolutions
Aswin C. Sankaranarayanan, Jian Wang, and Mohit Gupta
SPIE Imaging conference 2016
Reconstruction Free Inference from Compressive Measurements
Suhas Lohit, Kuldeep Kulkarni, Pavan Turaga,
Jian Wang, and Aswin C. Sankaranarayanan
CCD 2015 (Oral) Best Paper Award
LiSens — A Scalable Architecture for Video Compressive Sensing
Jian Wang, Mohit Gupta, and Aswin C. Sankaranarayanan
ICCP 2015 (Oral)
Photometric Stereo with Small Angular Variations
Jian Wang, Yasuyuki Matsushita,
Boxin Shi, and Aswin C. Sankaranarayanan
ICCV 2015
Gigapixel 3D Camera
Jian Wang, Xiao Liang, Yasuyuki Matsushita,
Magnetro Chen, and Bojun Huang
Tech-report 2015
Design of Control Algorithms for Smart Car Based on Vision
Jian Wang, Xiaowei Zhang, Jin Yang,
Xin Zan, and Xiaoyong Liu
Microcomputer and Its Applications, 2010
First-Class Award (Top 5.6%) and Excellent Paper Award (Top 4.2%) in National Competition


1. Srinivasa G. Narasimhan, Jian Wang, Aswin C. Sankaranarayanan, Joseph Bartels, William Whittaker, “Programmable light curtains”, US patent, 2021. [link]
2. *** US patent, 2020 3. *** US patent, 2020 4. Tianfan Xue, Jian Wang, Jiawen Chen, Jonathan T. Barron, “Dark Flash Photography with a Stereo Camera”, US patent, 2019. [link]
5. Jinwei Gu, Jian Wang, Wei Jiang, “Apparatus and Methods for Video Foreground Background Segmentation with Multi-View Spatial Temporal Graph Cuts”, US patent, 2017. [link]
6. Zonghai Chen, Zhiling Wang, Yuzhou Zhao, Mingwei Guo, and Jian Wang, “Ground Target Positioning Method Applied into Video Monitoring System”, China patent CN102359780 B, 2014. [link] [pdf] [pdf_Eng]
7. Jian Wang, Zhiling Wang, Yuzhou Zhao, Mingwei Guo, and Zonghai Chen, “Real-time Identity Recognition and Authentication Method for Self-service Equipment System of Bank”, China patent CN102364527 A, 2012. [link] [pdf] [pdf_Eng]
             Last updated on Sept. 2022